Research only
All of
ALZ.ORG Research Center Alzheimer's Association International Conference ISTAART Journal Grants TrialMatch Press Donate Contact

Award Winners

Awards Presented at AAIC 2014

Khalid Iqbal Lifetime Achievement Award

Steven G. Younkin, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Steven G. Younkin received a Ph.D. in pharmacology from the University of Pennsylvania in 1971 for research on the role of calcium in synaptic facilitation, and he graduated from the University of Pennsylvania Medical School in 1972. Dr. Younkin then did postdoctoral research on the somatosensory system with Dr. Alden Spencer in Dr. Eric Kandel’s group at New York University. In 1974, he joined the department of pharmacology and therapeutics at the University of Cincinnati. In 1978, Dr. Younkin moved to Case Western Reserve University (CWRU), where he rose through the ranks to become professor of pharmacology and pathology. After completing residency training in neuropathology at CWRU in 1985, Dr. Younkin began research focused on the role of the amyloid beta protein in Alzheimer’s disease. Dr. Younkin received the Kaiser Permanent Award for excellence in teaching at CWRU and in 1992 was appointed director of the Medical Scientist Training Program. In 1995, Dr. Younkin was recruited to Mayo Clinic Jacksonville to direct development of a translational research program focused on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders. In 2002, Dr. Younkin was named George M. Eisenberg Professor in the department of neuroscience.

Dr. Younkin received a 1991 Zenith Award from the Alzheimer’s Association, a 1995 Potamkin Prize for Research In Pick’s, Alzheimer’s and Related Disorders from the American Academy of Neurology, and a 1997 MetLife Award for Medical Research in Alzheimer’s Disease. Dr. Younkin’s current research is focused on studies of the complex genetics of Alzheimer’s disease that seek to identify effective, disease-modifying therapeutic approaches.

Inge Grundke-Iqbal Award for Alzheimer’s Research

Kári Stefánsson, M.D., Dr.Med.

Kári Stefánsson M.D., Dr.Med., founded deCODE genetics in August 1996, and in the time since, has served as president, chief executive officer and a director. In December 1999, he was appointed the chairman of the board of directors.

From 1993 until April 1997, he was a professor of neurology, neuropathology and neuroscience at Harvard University. From 1983 to 1993, he held faculty positions in neurology, neuropathology and neurosciences at the University of Chicago. Dr. Stefánsson received his M.D. and Dr.Med. from the University of Iceland and is board certified in neurology and neuropathology in the United States.

He has published numerous articles on the genetics of common/complex diseases and is a worldwide leader in the discovery of variants in the sequence of the human genome that are associated with the risk of common/complex traits.

Dr. Stefánsson was chosen by Time as one of the 100 most influential men of the year for 2007 and by Newsweek as one of the 10 most important biologists of the 21st century. He was the recipient of the Jakobus Award and the World Glaucoma Association Award for present scientific impact in 2007, the European Society of Human Genetics Award in 2009 and the Andre Jahre Award in 2009.

The Jerome H. Stone Philanthropy Award for Alzheimer's Research

Selim Zilkha and Mary Hayley

This extraordinary couple has played a transformational role in promoting and advancing global Alzheimer’s research through their generosity and commitment to the University of Southern California (USC), the Keck School of Medicine and the Zilkha Neurogenetic Institute.

Together, they are impacting the global research community through their investments while inspiring a new generation of philanthropists to take action to end Alzheimer’s. Their interest in Alzheimer’s research is personal: Zilkha’s mother and oldest brother had Alzheimer’s disease, and his oldest sister, dementia.

Together, they have made significant investments totaling over $30 million to the Keck School of Medicine of USC to:

Submit a nominee for the Jerome H. Stone Philanthropy Award for Alzheimer's Research.

Access 2014 program content

Searchable program content, including session topics, speakers and abstracts, is now available.

Where the world reveals the latest dementia research • Register now