Donate by 12/31
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community
About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

About us

The Alzheimer’s Association - Heart of America Chapter serves 66 counties in Kansas and Missouri and is the trusted resource for vital information, education, training, support programs and services to more than 50,000 individuals and nearly 200,000 family members and care partners in our service area suffering the emotional, physical and financial challenges of Alzheimer's disease. The Heart of America Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations and foundations.

Our mission
To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our vision
A world without Alzheimer's disease.

 

Staff

Juliette B. Bradley
Director of Communications
juliette@bradleyproject.net

Scott Bradley
Development/Social Media Coordinator
sbradley@alz.org

Debra R. Brook
Executive Director
dbrook@alz.org  

Karen Clond, L.M.S.W.
Dementia Care Specialist
kclond@alz.org

Marcia Gilbert
Dementia Care Specialist
mgilbert@alz.org

Brenda Gregg, MS
Dementia Care Specialist
bgregg@alz.org

Debbie Holroyd
Dementia Care Specialist
dholroyd@alz.org 

Jan Horn
Operations/Corporate Relations Director
jhorn@alz.org

Kelly Jones L.M.S.W.
Community Connections Coordinator
kelly.jones@alz.org

Lauren Larsen
Special Events Coordinator
llarsen@alz.org

Cindy Miller, LPN
Dementia Care Specialist
cindy.miller@alz.org

Michelle Niedens, L.S.C.S.W.
Director of Education, Programs and Public Policy 
mniedens@alz.org

Jeanne Reeder, L.M.S.W.
Dementia Care Specialist
jreeder@alz.org 

Beth Sherry
Accountant/Controller
bsherry@alz.org

Carol Smith
Receptionist
carol.smith@alz.org

Kim Stein
Dementia Care Specialist
kstein@alz.org 

Lora Swartzendruber, L.M.S.W.
Dementia Care Specialist
lswartzendruber@alz.org

Susan Wagner
Donations Processor
swagner@alz.org

Trish Weathersoon
Outreach Coordinator/Diversity Outreach
tweatherspoon@alz.org

Adam Weigel
Outreach Coordinator/Latino Outreach
aweigel@alz.org

Amy Yeager, L.M.S.W.
Dementia Care Specialist
ayeager@alz.org

Back to top


 

Board of Directors

Chris Jones, President
Joseph P. Platt, Treasurer
Debbie Biehl, Secretary
David Marks, Past President

John C.Aisenbrey
Benjamin J. Biller
Jane Dickinson Kress
Mike Levitan
Martin M. Loring
Cathy Tivol Maslan
David R. Schlee
Chad Stout
Rob Sweatt
Suzanne Williams

Back to top


 

Program and Education Advisory Committee

Dr. Heather Anderson, University of Kansas Scool of Medicine, Neurology Department
Dr. Lynn Lyon, Neurologist
Dr. Nevada Lee, Internal Medicine
Becky Fast, LMSW, Office of Congressman Dennis Moore
Nina Chen, PhD, CFLE, University of Missouri Extension
Carole Ellison, Caregiver
Judy Goodhue, RN, Caregiver
Penny Shaffer, RN, MS, Johnson County Community College
Laura Miles, Care Connection for Aging Services, Warrensburg, MO
Jacqueline Talman, HCA Midwest Division
Leonor Solis, Guadalupe Center

Back to top


 

Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.