$25,000 Match
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community

Weekly e-news

We will not share your information.

About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

Areas We Serve
Services at a Glance
Board of Directors

Job Opportunities
Chapter Staff



Areas We Serve

The Alzheimer's Association of Greater Indiana provides services in 73 counties in Indiana.  Service Delivery areas and their associated counties are listed below, in North to South order.

Northwest:  Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Newton, Jasper, Starke, Pulaski
Northern:  St. Joseph, Marshall, Elkhart, Kosciusko, Wabash
Northeast:  LaGrange, Steuben, Noble, DeKalb, Whitley, Allen, Huntington, Wells, Adams
West Central:  Benton, White, Carroll, Warren, Tippecanoe, Clinton, Fountain, Montgomery
North Central:  Fulton, Cass, Miami, Howard, Tipton
Heartland:  Grant, Blackford, Jay, Madison, Delaware, Henry
East Central:  Randolph, Wayne, Union, Fayette, Rush
Wabash Valley:  Vermillion, Parke, Putnam, Clay, Vigo, Sullivan
Metro Indy:  Marion, Boone, Hamilton, Hendricks, Hancock, Morgan, Johnson, Shelby
Limestone:  Owen, Monroe, Greene, Lawrence, Martin
South Central:  Brown, Bartholomew, Decatur, Jackson, Jennings
Vincennes:  Knox, Daviess, Pike, Gibson

Southern counties served by the Greater Kentucky/Southern Indiana Chapter include:   Clark, Crawford, Dubois, Floyd, Harrison, Jefferson, Orange, Perry, Posey, Scott, Spencer, Vanderburgh, Warrick and Washington

Southeastern counties served by the Greater Cincinnati Chapter include:   Dearborn, Franklin, Ohio, Ripley and Switzerland

Services at a Glance

• 24/7 Helpline for information, support and assistance  1-800-272-3900
• Care Consultation by clinical social workers
• Educational Programs for family and professional caregivers
• Support Groups - over 60 throughout Indiana
• Community Resource Guides
• Fundraising Events  
• MedicAlert + Safe Return

Current Board of Directors

Dee Dee Katzman, President
Richard Mohs, Ph.D., Secretary
Ken Crook, Mission and Outreach Chair
Phil Nicely, Past-President

Directors - Members at Large
Michael Barth
Bruce Baude
Jim Boyers
Ned Broadwater
Kepten Carmichael
Sherri Davies
Jeff Edwards
Phyllis Farrell
Anita Gaillard
Brian Healey
Dan Rexroth, Psy.D.
Robert Russell
Art Wachholz

Medical and Scientific Advisory Council
Linda Abels, M.D.
Liana Apostolova, M.D.
Valerie Bruemmer, M.D. 
Fen Lei Chang, M.D.
Andrew Class, M.D.
Carolyn Cunningham, M.D.
Margaret Frazer, M.D.
Ann Hake, M.D.
Patrick Healey, M.D.
Richard Mohs, Ph.D.
Leslie Oleck, CNS
Stephen Rappaport, M.D.
Robert Russell, M.D.
David Spangler, M.D.
Stanley Szwast, M.D.
Tasha Williams, Ph.D.  
Chris Wilson, M.D.

Council of Past Presidents
Phil Nicely
Carolyn Cunningham, M.D.
Curt Fankhauser
John Thompson
Mary Guerriero Austrom, Ph.D.
Dave Bromund
Ken Bennett
Mark Laker


In 1982, the Alzheimer's Association and Related Disorders Organization was established in cooperation with Community Hospitals, Indianapolis to support patients and families affected by Alzheimer's disease. The Chapter affiliated with the National Association in 1988 and became the Alzheimer's Association - Central Indiana Chapter. By the year 2000, 37 counties in central Indiana were served by the Chapter.

Meanwhile, in 1986, the South Central Indiana Chapter of the Alzheimer's Association was incorporated. Located in Columbus, IN, the South Central Chapter originally served five counties. By the year 2000, their service area had grown to 14 counties.

In the year 2000, these two chapters merged to form the Alzheimer's Association of Central Indiana. In 2003, the Alzheimer's Association of Central Indiana merged with the Fort Wayne Alzheimer’s Support Groups to form the Alzheimer's Association Greater Indiana Chapter. With the merger, the Association expanded its territory to include Northern Indiana and opened an office in Fort Wayne, IN.

The Greater Indiana Chapter is administered by a voluntary Board of Directors and a staff of 27. More than 350 volunteers are also utilized to provide support and education programs to the chapter's 73 counties.

Our mission
To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our vision
A world without Alzheimer's disease.


The Greater Indiana Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations and foundations. The generosity of our donors enables us to continue to provide invaluable services and fund research as we work to eliminate Alzheimer's disease. In our continuing effort to be good stewards of the gifts we receive, in fiscal year 2015, 75% of our expenditures provided programs and services to those affected by Alzheimer's disease.

Annual Reports available to download:

For more information on use of funds or to request a printed copy of a report, please call the Chapter's 24/7 Helpline at 800-272-3900.

Job Opportunities

Information & Referral Manager
Responsible for the daily operations of the 24/7 Helpline. This role coordinates the local information and referral system staffed by trained volunteers and a clinical team, and manages the CRM database for constituents.  To apply, send resume and cover letter to Denise Saxman at dsaxman@alz.org.
Read the full job description here.

Development Specialist - Fort Wayne, South Bend
Management for all fundraising efforts and community-building to further the mission of the Alzheimer’s Association for the Fort Wayne and South Bend Service Delivery Areas (SDAs). To apply, send resume and cover letter to Ryan Keys at rkeys@alz.org.
Read the full job description here. 



Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.