The Alzheimer's Association Medical and Scientific Advisory Council (MSAC) shapes the philosophical direction of the Alzheimer's Association research program and ensures the integrity of the peer-review process for awarding grants. Comprising leaders from the Alzheimer's and dementia research community, MSAC members are involved in identifying new developments in research that merit further study, conducting second round reviews in grant selection, and ensuring the scientific accuracy of the Association's advocacy and public education materials.


David Knopman, M.D.

Vice Chair
Cynthia Lemere, Ph.D.


Suzanne Craft, Ph.D.

Laura Gitlin, Ph.D.

Todd E. Golde, Ph.D., M.D.

Bruce T. Lamb, Ph.D.

Jennifer J. Manly, Ph.D.

Margaret Pericak-Vance, Ph.D.

Gerard D. Schellenberg, Ph.D.

Julie Schneider, M.D.

Kristine Yaffe, M.D.


Alzheimer's Association Staff

Maria C. Carrillo, Ph.D.

Rebecca M. Edelmayer, Ph.D.

Keith N. Fargo, Ph.D.

Heather M. Snyder, Ph.D.

William H. Thies, Ph.D.